Skip to content

5 Things Going On With Us

April 3, 2017

1. Special Guests

 

One of whom is slightly secret, the other who is not. We look forward to the return of Micah, our favourite spoken word poet, in late April/early May.

16473776_777429539488_8817941907280998665_n

Why so serious? Let’s put a smile on that face. Also, I like your hairs.

 

I especially look forward to it, as I have taken a week off to ferry him around town and assist him administratively. And also to sleep in. (Primarily to sleep in, let’s not kid ourselves). The one bad thing about Micah is he likes to get up at 6 am and sing. Which I am not down with, because Mama needs her 12 hours. Oh, that’s another new thing – I’ve started referring to myself in the third person as “Mama.” Mama’s gotta go to work. Mama’s gotta go to sleep. Mama says no. Etc. But I’m not too alarmed. I just think that’s something all 30 year olds eventually do. Right? Somebody affirm me in this.

 

We are also dismally crushed at the cancellation of Jason Zelling’s advent, but look forward to housing him in future.

11059709_10153345581012680_1176402328352763540_n

 

2. Community Dinners

Yes, these are still happening! Community Dinners are the main focus and “mission” of the house, if you will, and we find there’s no better way to build community with our neighbours than to share our food and couches with them. Our favourite guests are recurring, and it’s comforting to see familiar faces around the table and around the neighbourhood each week as we share a meal and our lives with each other. Our walks in life are vastly different, but despite that, we’ve made room for each other. And that, my friends, is a beautiful thing, even if Mama gets a little cranky sometimes. (I can’t stop.) We have saintly Leanne making dinner for us every six weeks, and the eminently generous (and gorgeous) Reize clan making dinner once every four weeks. If you want to get in on this, holla at me!

rehost_2016_9_13_f4b0c47d-7245-4e0c-bb34-89879082370e

In the lives of our guests, I feel I should make special mention of Joanna this month. Here is a nice picture of her.

unspecified

Joanna may just be the most welcoming and cheerful person on the planet. If you met her, you’d know. She started coming to our dinners a couple of years ago, hearing about us on the Wednesday night dinners that a local bownesian church, Shepherd of the Hills, puts on. She has been a regular fixture at our dinners ever since then. This year, she acquired her GED through some hard work and perseverance and is graduating in a couple of weeks. Mama (that’s me) couldn’t be more proud. We are going to see her graduation this evening and as her community, we are thrilled to celebrate her accomplishment with cake (and sparkling apple juice, if Sarah says we can get it). One of the best parts of community dinners is being able to share and participate in milestones like this.

3. We Still Need Roommates For Realsies

Starting in May, we will have five roommates. Five roommates is nice, but you know what’s nicer than five roommates? Eight. Especially if you’re trying to pay the bills and run a community house. If you know of anybody who would be interested in living with us, please tell them to check us out on social media and/or email us at bownesshouseofcommons@gmail.com.

4. Already Trying To Forget Winter

2e2f3ea2013517f7b24931a0ae401ffa

I live for summer. Our preemptive summer plans include a block party (Sarah’s dream) and the continuation of our community garden. Would you like to be involved? Call me! Seriously. Call me. I don’t like how Carly Rae Jepsen says “Call me maybe.” She is such a tease!

5. We Fight In The Living Room

We hold all our fights in the living room. We have been learning how to fight this year. (Well, all of the years we learn that, but this year especially.) Last night, as I was strongly and emphatically elucidating all the ways another roommate had wronged me (in front of at least three other roommates) I thought, this is a weird situation. Who else do I know that does this? But that is how intentional community rolls. We learn how to fight and then we fight. In front of our other roommates. And we aren’t good at it. (Although, in the case of this particular roommate, we are sort of good at it because we have been doing it for decades.) My point is, whether we are good at it or not good at it, whether we fear or relish it, we do it anyway, no matter what, because that is what we have committed to do. And then, after we talk it out and the tension slightly dissipates, we turn to our other stunned roommates, laugh awkwardly, and realize we have to go right from fighting and making up, to praying together, to having a business meeting. As my dear friend Nicole says, What a time to be alive.

LOVE, MEGAN
Here is a nice picture of me
Maary-Poppins-mary-poppins-16835831-457-250

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

