Skip to content

I had a dream I stood beneath an orange sky

October 5, 2016

I feel like you haven’t heard from us in a while. Here’s a brief snapshot.

Meeting in ten. I should really start live-tweeting the meetings, especially when they get awkward. I feel like live-tweeting awkward situations/conversations could really blossom into a spiritual gift for me.

Not saying that all meetings are awkward. But we have to have all of our conversations. Just…every conversation. We have to have it. No conversational stone may remain unturned. That’s the blessing and the curse. So it’s a mathematical certainty that it’s going to get awkward or uncomfortable at some point. Get off your ath, let’s do some math.

200

We were in talks to do a video blog, but then mono ruined all of our lives and especially Sarah’s. Desolation threatened to crush our spirits. I alone remained impervious. Thankfully, Sarah has been house-sitting this last month, so luckily we didn’t have to quarantine her. In this case a quarantine, complete with great dane and weirdly disdainful cat, had already been provided. As the days passed, I began to forget her face, her mannerisms. Does Sarah still live here, I wondered. I received a text one night that said,”Will you come over and read to me?” She told me I could let myself in, so I did. The downstairs was awash with empty gatorade bottles and the lingering smell of chicken broth clung to the air. It was sinister, and unsettling. Sarah looked like Voldemort. I crawled into her bed and read to her anyway. (I want to make some joke about how that’s not the first time I’ve gotten into bed with someone who looked like Voldemort, but that would be super inappropriate, so I’m not going to do that.) Then I watched That 70’s Show by myself in the hot tub. I can think of no better way to spend a friday night.

So with Sarah gone, and Steph gone forever (side note : Alessa and I have decided that the moral of that story is that you shouldn’t love your friends too much because they might move away), things are sparse. it’s just Matthias, Alessa and I at the house. We are making it work. We are keeping our spirits up. Matthias does most of the chores. 10/10, would recommend. Community dinners are still happening, through the grace of God and the generosity of Awaken, our church community. But the beacons are lit. Gondor calls for aid. (AKA please send us roommates. Immediately.)

In other news, one of our ex-roommates Paul got married to the lovely Laura. Get a load.

14484808_10157566923235523_1014845863084664999_n

 

14355578_10157452224650553_6103302624740211236_n

STORY TIME!

Micah Bournes first came into our lives as a spoken word poet who would be staying at our house while he performed his wares about town. From the way his dietary needs were communicated to us, I assumed he was an 82 year old white man. I was not correct.

14572384_862891812369_2420627407090216843_n

Most recently, Micah has expanded his repertoire to include “blues musician.” I don’t know how he did it, but he did. His album,  No Ugly Babies came out this week – do yourself a favour and listen to it because it is so darn good it makes me want to high five everyone. For free.

a0599443319_10

Next on the list of talented and delightful humans who have played at our house and released musical projects recently is John Gerrard, AKA Francis Cheer. Here is a picture of him in case you forget what he looks like.

12063305_10156177623630074_7735535746326008014_n

Here is another picture in case you like a more devil-may-care look.

10402417_10155542310340074_2361051993358043708_n

I would describe his sound as…upbeat melancholy folk pop? You can tell why they don’t pay me to write music reviews. In his own words : Lyrically I wanted to be both literal and abstract with varying degrees of honesty and poetic disguise. A lot of the material for this came from my struggles with Schizo-affective disorder whether directly or indirectly. I bring up my diagnosis because I want to help normalize, although I try to make art that stands on it’s own merit without knowing the artist’s context. I found a balance and a positive creative routine a few years ago, and I want people to know that it is possible. I think this lends some of the songs to a content or glad feel. While my painting is more of a reflection of the messy mind, music for me is a calming force, more of an ideal and fabricated space.

ANYWAY I REALLY LIKE IT A LOT GO LISTEN TO IT

Listen to it!

a1279983863_10

Until next time.

As always, Community Dinner every thursday 7 pm if you wanna hang out, eat free food, and enjoy some sullenly muttered sarcasm from me.

open-uri20150608-27674-8axz7n_d1d7c2b1

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

